Right now the only sounds I hear are the gentle whir of the humidifier in my daughter’s room and the click clack of my keyboard. Usually at this time (7:30PM) our house is filled with the sounds of snack munching, giggles and/or book reading.

Tonight marks the 4th anniversary of my daughter’s entry into the world (literally right about now, actually) and she’s too tired for us to sing “Happy Birthday” again. So tired, in fact, she is sound asleep in her new princess jammies, snuggled up with her new pillow pet, after a full day in her new fancy dresses surrounded by people who love her. A day at school and the evening birthday festivities even zapped our six year-old of his energy and he’s already out like a light, too.

Though she’s only graced our lives for four years, I find it hard to remember a time when she wasn’t part of the family. I posted on Facebook that “‎4 years ago today we welcomed our Megs into the world (all 9 lbs. 9 oz. of her). Her spunk, interpretation of the world, and boundless love make each day with her unpredictable, colorful and full. I wouldn’t have it any other way.” That really sums it up. She’s a firecracker.

Happy Birthday to my sweet, spunky girl. I will do my best not to rush you to grow-up, but I am SO looking forward to seeing what a strong, remarkable woman you will be. In the meantime, I’ll do my best to enjoy the journey of watching you discover what an amazing person you already are.

